Tags

, , , ,

The past couple of weeks I’ve been racking my brain to come up with some new ways to serve pasta, so naturally I wanted to come up with a new sauce. I dreamt about pasta sauce one night. I stood in front of the pantry for an hour trying to find ingredients I thought would work.

And then I thought I was trying too hard. So I just threw some ingredients together. And guess what? It worked! Seriously. It worked. It worked better than I could have imagined. It may seem strange – all these ingredients together – but aren’t those usually the best recipes?

I also have a minor secret about this recipe. I’m almost too embarrassed to tell you. But I will. I used jarred roasted red pepper sauce. There, I said it. But why ruin a delicious homemade roasted red pepper sauce if the sauce wasn’t going to turn out like I wanted? Yes. That’s why I did it.

Feeling ambitious? How Sweet It Is has a very yummy roasted red pepper sauce you can use for this.

Pepper and Mascarpone Rotini
Serves 4

26 oz. roasted red pepper sauce
2 cups whole wheat rotini
1 whole orange pepper, finely chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 tablespoons mascarpone
1/2 cup fresh mozzarella, cut into small cubes
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon herbs de provence 

Heat the olive oil in a large saucer on medium-high heat. Add the chopped orange pepper and let saute until peppers get soft and slightly brown on the edges, about 5 minutes. While peppers are heating, begin cooking pasta according to box directions. Turn heat down to low and add roasted red pepper sauce to the orange peppers. Add mascarpone, mozzarella, herbs de provence, and garlic. Stir frequently on low heat to warm the cheeses and spread them evenly in the sauce.

Drain pasta and return to pot. Cover with the roasted red pepper sauce and stir, coating evenly. Serve with parmesan, basil, or as is.

