Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Tonight was my first night ever steaming artichokes. I have had artichokes before, but never cooked them. It was probably one of the easiest things I have ever done, to be honest, and I felt a little silly for never having done it before! Our menu tonight for dinner included turkey meatloaf, steamed artichokes and broccoli with lemon garlic butter, and fresh strawberries with balsamic vinegar and pepper. It was all very easy to make and only took a total of about 75 minutes (that includes cooking time). I did some different things to my turkey meatloaf, so I’ve included that recipe below. I love experimenting with meatloaf every time I make it!

Cutting Artichokes

Steaming Artichokes

Lemon Garlic Butter

Dinner

Turkey Meatloaf
1 lb. lean ground turkey
Ketchup (not quite sure how much – I normally eyeball it)
1 teaspoon pesto
2 eggs
1 clove garlic
Pinch of parsley
2 tablespoons olive oil
Quaker oats (again, not sure how much – I normally can tell once I’ve started mixing it)
Mustard
Brown sugar

Preheat over to 325 degrees. Mix first 8 ingredients together thoroughly. Add extra ketchup or oats as needed to get an even consistency that isn’t too watery. Mold the mixture into miniature loaves (they cook faster than one large loaf) and cook for approximately 40 minutes. While they are cooking, mix ketchup, mustard, and brown sugar (all eyeballed) into a smooth consistency. Remove loaves from oven, drizzle with your ketchup mixture, and put back in the oven for 5 minutes.

Wow, it looks to me like I need to start getting some accurate measurements. I am the queen of eyeballing ingredients. It drives my amazing cook of a husband insane.

Enjoy!

