Tags

, , , , , ,

I was in the mood to make a cake today. But not to ice it. Icing is not my forte on cakes. So I scoured the pantry and found most of the ingredients for this Lime Yogurt Cake with Blackberry Sauce from Smitten Kitchen. Normally, I put my own twist on recipes, and I did with the rice, but I didn’t even try messing with the cake, it looked so delicious. The only thing I did differently on the cake was use 1% plain unsweetened yogurt instead of whole plain unsweetened yogurt.

Seriously. Try the cake.

Lime Yogurt Cake with Blackberry Sauce

Try it. Now.

Lime Cake
1 cup 1% milk plain unsweetened yogurt 
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 cup sugar
Zest of one lime
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
2 eggs
1 2/3 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease the sides of a 9-inch springform pan. In a large mixing bowl, blend the yogurt, oil, sugar, lime zest and lime juice. Add eggs, blending well after each egg is added. Stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt, and blend with batter until combined.

Pour batter into prepared cake pan and bake for 35-40 minutes. Remove the cake from the springform pan once it has cooled.

Sauce
12 oz. fresh blackberries
1/4 cup water
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Combine blackberries, water, sugar and lime juice in a food processor. Pulse until very smooth. Cover and refrigerate until cold. Pour over cake just before you are ready to serve it.

________________________________________________________

Find me on Facebook!

