Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This meal? Prepare to be extremely full. My eyes were certainly bigger than my stomach tonight. Both the soup and the gourmet grilled cheeses, meticulously made by my wonderful husband, were really rich and flavorful. The photo below – I ate half of that and I thought I was going to burst from fullness. That being said, it tasted amazing! The chilled soup with gooey grilled cheese was perfect for a hot summer evening. Pair it with an ice cold summer ale and you have a fantastic dinner on your hands!

Since my husband concocted the beautifully created sandwiches, I do not have a precise recipe for you to post for that. If he chooses to give up his hints, I’ll gladly post it! The Avocado Soup was adapted from Emeril’s recipe, however, I changed it quite a bit based on what I had in the kitchen, and what I know I like. There are tons of ways to make this!

Chilled Avocado Soup
4 medium ripe avocados, peeled and pitted
1.5 cups chicken stock
1 shallot, cut into tiny pieces
Juice of 1 lime
Pinch of salt
1 teaspoon cayenne
1 cup heavy cream

Combine avocados, chicken stock, lime juice, salt, and cayenne in a food processor and blend until smooth. Add heavy cream and mix well. Chill until ready to eat.

That’s it. Really. I promise. I made it at noon and dinner was done. It was fantastic. I even made the garnish (recipe below) at the same time. Easiest. Dinner. Ever. And super rich and creamy and filling!

Lime Corn Garnish
3 ears corn on the cob (you can also replace this with corn kernels, I just didn’t have any)
Zest of 1 lime
Juice of 2 limes
1 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
2 teaspoons olive oil

Heat olive oil in a skillet. Add ears of corn. Cook corn until it starts to get warm and the kernels turn brown and can easily be cut from the cob. Turn off heat and cut corn from the cobs, in the skillet. Add lime zest, lime juice, cayenne, and chili powder. Mix all ingredients and cook on medium heat until corn begins to turn brown around the edges. Refrigerate corn mixture until ready to use.

So easy and so delicious! The sweet corn mixed with the tangy and spicy seasoning was just perfect with the avocado soup.

Enjoy!


 

