Tags

, , , , , ,

Tonight I had a bunch of beans left over from Saturday evening’s rice and beans dinner. I wanted to go ahead and do something with them so they didn’t go to waste, so I made up my very own baked beans recipe and I was quite pleased with how well they turned out! They were sweet, savory, and a perfect summertime side dish.

While the beans were cooking, I whipped up (literally) a delicious whipped topping to go over top of some berries I had. I had never made my own whipped cream and had no idea how easy it was to do. My only suggestion would be to use a hand or standing mixer. I didn’t think it would take that long to get thick, so I whisked it by hand and I thought my arm would fall off before it ever finished. Don’t get me wrong, though. It was definitely worth it. I just used a cup of heavy cream, a tablespoon of confectioner’s sugar, and a splash of vanilla. Next time I plan to add another flavor – maybe some cocoa powder or lime zest. This will certainly become a staple for desserts and fruit, it was so easy to make!

One more thing. I apologize in advance, my measurements are only approximate. I honestly did not measure a single thing to get this recipe, and now I wish I had because they were so tasty!

Baked Beans
3 cups mixed beans (I used dried that were already cooked, but you could use canned, and rinse them)
4 tablespoons ketchup
2 tablespoons yellow mustard
1/4 cup brown sugar
Splash of apple cider vinegar
Pinch of salt and pepper
1 cup Coca-Cola (I used Coke Zero, but Coke would be delightful!)

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Combine all ingredients except beans and Coke in a large bowl. Add beans and Coke and stir until beans are coated evenly. Pour in  baking dish and bake for about 45 minutes. I stirred them throughout the hour, but don’t think it’s necessary. After 45 minutes, turn oven up to a low broil and keep in oven about 15 more minutes.

Next time I make these I’ll be sure to measure the ingredients because they were yummy! I’ll also try adding some turkey bacon next time, for additional flavor.

With some steamed broccoli, the beans and fruit were plenty for a midsummer dinner!

 

 

 

