Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

In honor of Shark Week beginning tonight, I really wanted to make fish for dinner. I found a yummy recipe on Epicurious that I knew even I couldn’t mess up! In true Leap of Taste nature, though, I did put my own spin on the recipe, so I’ve included the entire recipe, Leap of Taste style, below.

In addition to our yummy fish tacos, I sprinkled some corn on the cob with chili powder and blackened them on the stove top while the fish was cooking.

Fish Tacos with Strawberry Salsa
Cooking spray
3 mahi mahi steaks
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Salt
Black pepper
8 whole wheat tortillas
2 pints strawberries, chopped
2 small jalapenos, seeded and chopped
Sprinkle of chopped basil
Juice of half a lemon
Lettuce
Gorgonzola cheese 

Heat oven to 450°F. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray. Place fish on baking sheet; coat with cooking spray; season with cumin, salt and teaspoon pepper. Turn steaks over and sprinkle again with cumin, salt, and pepper. Stack tortillas, sprinkle with a few drops of water, and wrap tightly in foil. Cook fish and tortillas until fish is opaque and flakes easily with a fork but is still moist, and tortillas are hot, 10 to 15 minutes. In a bowl, combine strawberries, jalapeño, basil, lemon juice, salt, and pepper; stir. Flake fish into big pieces and unwrap tortillas. Sprinkle flaked fish with salt and pepper again. Divide fish, strawberry salsa lettuce, and gorgonzola evenly among tortillas.

Enjoy!

 

