Tags

, , , , , , ,

I feel like I have so many things to tell you guys! This evening, while spending my time in the kitchen fixing dinner, I really started reflecting on the things I do and don’t like about being in the kitchen. And the dislikes can easily be overcome, as I realized during tonight’s experience. However, that post will be coming later this week! Tonight I must talk to you about my Apple Enchiladas we had for dessert. While they were delicious, my husband and I did discuss some alternatives between bites. I love that part of making a meal for my family. I like figuring out what did and did not work based on their experience with what I’ve made. The dinner before the dessert was pretty darn good as well, so hang tight for that post later this week, too!

Without further ado, below is my very first Apple Enchilada recipe. After the recipe you’ll find a list of things I would change about it, so please feel free to experiment and let me know what you think!

Apple Enchiladas
2 large apples (I used Macintosh because they are my favorite)
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
3 whole wheat tortillas
Splash of oil (I use Smart Balance) 

Vanilla Bean Sauce
Contents of 1 vanilla bean
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut apples into small chunks and pour in a small pot. Add the oil, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Mix well and let reduce on medium, stirring occasionally. Once apple mixture is tender, remove from heat. Place tortillas on a baking sheet lined with aluminum (believe me, you’ll want the baking sheet lined!) and place 1/3 of the apple mixture in the center of each tortilla. Mix the contents of the vanilla bean, heavy cream, cinnamon, and pecans in a saucepan and simmer on medium for about 10 minutes, stirring often. Roll the tortillas and turn over so the fold is on the bottom. Spoon the vanilla mixture on top and bake for 10 minutes. Enjoy!

What I Would Change:
Now, please keep in mind I had to make do with what we had thanks to Hurricane Irene. I tried to venture out to the grocery store to get a few items, but was unable to find one that was open. If I had, though, I would have replaced the oil in the apples with a bit of butter. I would have also let the apples reduce a bit longer so they were softer than they were. I would have made a bit of extra vanilla bean sauce and put it in the enchiladas with the apple mixture. And lastly, I would have added a tiny bit of flour and butter to the vanilla sauce mixture to thicken it up a bit.

Next time, I also plan on using pears with my apples! I think that will be a good fall treat. And I may make some caramel to use on top instead of the vanilla bean sauce. If you try this recipe, I would love to know how you end up making it and what you like about it! 


