Tags

, , , ,

You’ll want to try this, if you haven’t already. Really, you will. I have alway been a broccoli lover, but this takes my love over the edge, teetering on obsession. This recipe is adapted from Barefoot Contessa’s Back to Basics cookbook, and there is absolutely no reason to alter the recipe. None. I have no desire to put my own spin on it because it is so delicious. The only thing I did differently was toss it in a bowl. Make it. Now.

Roasted Broccoli
(Please note: these are my own measurements – not from the book)
2 large bunches of fresh broccoli
Olive oil (I used Smart Balance – I love Smart Balance)
Salt and pepper to taste
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 lemon
Parmesan cheese to taste
Pine nuts (I left these out, but they would be delicious in it)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Cut the broccoli bunches into florets. Put a bit of olive oil on the bottom of a bowl. Add broccoli florets and a bit more olive oil on top. Add garlic. salt and pepper, and toss, coating evenly. Place broccoli florets on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. Bake for about 20 minutes, until the florets begin turning a crispy brown. Remove from oven and coat with lemon juice and parmesan cheese (and pine nuts, if you have them). Mix well and enjoy! 

 

