Tags

, ,

I’ve been meaning to make these for a while, because I think they are a perfect treat for summer. Luckily, when I finally did get around to making them, I made them earlier than necessary. The first batch (yes, I said first) had to be thrown out. I used a recipe I found on the internet (no, I will not disclose the website!) and there was something really wrong with it. I think they left out an ingredient or two. I thought it was odd that I didn’t need any baking powder or baking soda, but figured they knew what they were talking about. Oops! That batch turned out tough – not fluffy – and more like a souffle. They did not rise at all. And on top of that, there wasn’t even enough batter to make a dozen cupcakes.

So, what did I do? I sulked for about an hour. Kicking myself for trying out a recipe I had doubts about just from reading it. Note to self: Never try a recipe your instincts tell you isn’t correct! 

After sulking for an hour, I got back in the kitchen (around 9pm at this point) and whipped up a second batch. I planned on icing them the following day.

The next morning (today). Gathered ingredients for frosting. WHAT? Not enough confectioner’s sugar? How in the world does a cupcake baking lover run out of confectioner’s sugar? Well. I made do. Turns out 1/2 cup didn’t make a huge difference. But, if you’re feeling iffy, just add half a cup of confectioner’s sugar to the recipe.

And now. Here’s the final recipe that I used, and turned out perfectly.

Orange Creamsicle Cupcakes
1/3 cup oil
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 skim milk (any milk would do, this is just what I use!)
Juice from 1 orange (about 1/2 a cup)
Zest of half the orange
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/3 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 325. Combine the milk, vanilla, sugar, oil, and orange juice in a large mixing bowl. In another bowl, sift the baking powder, salt, baking soda, and flour together. Add the dry mixture to the wet ingredients a little at a time, mixing until smooth. Once evenly mixed, fold in the orange zest. Spray cupcake liners with no-stick oil spray (I used to not do this at all, but I swear by it now. They cupcakes slide right out when time to be eaten). Fill cupcake liners and bake for 22 minutes.

Orange Creamsicle Icing
3 1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar
Zest of 1 orange
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon orange flavoring (can be found in the baking or spice aisle at the grocery store)

Begin beating butter, orange flavoring, vanilla extract, and orange zestuntil it starts to become fluffy. Slowly begin adding confectioner’s sugar in small batches. Beat until creamy and smooth. Frost cupcakes once they have cooled completely.

