Tags

, , , , , ,

In an effort to prepare healthy meals and snacks with little to no processed foods, I spent a bit of time in the natural food store today getting tons and tons of ideas as I walked through the aisles. Just looking at the healthy options gave me tons of energy! As I began making my own healthy snack (recipe below) this afternoon, I instantly decided I wanted to begin creating a regularly scheduled post here on Leap of Taste with a healthy snack option. Especially with the school year upon us. Now begins the busiest time of the year with school, personal and professional lives, and the holidays quickly approaching, and it’s not always easy to think of quick, healthy snacks on the go. My goal is to bring forth healthy snack recipes each weekend that you can make before the busy week ahead and have on hand all week long. So my question for you is…

What day would you prefer to read about new healthy snacks and recipes that would suit your schedule?

I’ll begin my very first healthy snacks recipe with a yummy treat that’s perfect for snacking and breakfast. I also have tons of variations on this treat, so stay tuned in the coming weeks for additional varieties!

Granola with Dates, Raisins, and Almonds
2 cups oats
1/2 cup ground flaxseed
1/2 cup wheat germ
1/2 cup chopped almonds
Pinch of salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 vanilla bean
1/2 cup honey
3 tablespoons butter1/2 cup chopped dried dates
1/2 cup raisins 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Combine oats, flaxseed, wheat germ, salt, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and almonds. Melt butter in a separate bowl and add contents of vanilla bean. Add honey to the oat combination and stir until evenly coated. Stir in butter until oat mixture is evenly coated. Spread on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. Bake for 25 minutes and stir every 5 minutes. Let it cool before stirring in dates, raisins, and the second teaspoon of cinnamon.

Enjoy with milk for breakfast or alone as a snack. I also plan on cutting some apples with almond butter, sprinkling on the granola, and having it for lunch!

 

