Tags

, , , ,

I went a little crazy at the grocery store a few days ago. I sometimes forget that unless I plan on using or eating 25 pounds of produce in a couple of days, I should probably just buy a little at a time. So, here I was today with a large, full carton of blueberries (after eating the first carton already) that needed to be cooked or eaten. While I love blueberries, I certainly was not in the mood to eat them plain! That’s no fun. So, I decided to make a loaf adapted from All Recipes.

I wanted mine to have a bit of crunch to it (I like crunchy breads and muffins), so I decided to add some chopped almonds, thus creating the Blueberry Lemon Almond Loaf! This is the perfect blend of sweet, zesty, and crunchy all rolled into one. I did leave off the glaze to make it a bit healthier, but I bet the glaze would be yummy on it with a cup of coffee for breakfast! I made 4 individual mini loaves rather than one big loaf, but it’s the same amount of batter.

I ate a lot of it. Directly out of the oven.

Blueberry Lemon Almond Loaf
1/3 cup melted butter
1 cup sugar
Juice of 1 lemon
Zest of 1 lemon
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup skim milk
1 cup fresh blueberries
1/2 cup chopped almonds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour an 8×4 inch loaf pan, or 4 mini loaf pans. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy. While still beating, add the eggs and mix well. Pour in the lemon juice. Start add the flour mixture, alternating with milk until both have been completely added. Turn off mixer and fold in the lemon zest, blueberries, and almonds with a soft spatula so you don’t burst the berries. Pour into prepared pan(s). Bake for 60 minutes (50 minutes for mini loaves).

