Tags

, , , , , ,

I am a huge fan of sweet potatoes. Like, huge. It takes a lot for me to walk past them in the produce section of the grocery store without taking some home. When I was younger, I hated them. Funny how our taste buds change. Well…when I was younger, I was very picky. No steak. No chocolate. No sweet potatoes. Today though…I’ll eat anything. Pretty much. I don’t like mushrooms unless they are cooked in a sauce, but that’s about it. And celery. I don’t like celery.

But I digress. I had a few sweet potatoes to cook and wanted to do something different than the normal sweet potato fries, chips, or baked sweet potatoes I usually do with them. Luckily, I stumbled upon this yummy recipe from Cupcake Punk that looked really yummy. Since I wanted this to be the bulk of our meal, I adapted it and changed the amounts of the ingredients to have a bit more protein and fit our taste buds. This was a huge hit in our house.

The other thing I liked is that it’s gluten-free. I’ve been gathering tons of gluten-free recipes in an effort to have a few gluten-free meals prepared each week. That was pretty much canceled out with the pumpkin cupcake with salted caramel frosting I had after dinner, though. Oh, well. I tried!

Sweet Potato Salad
3 large sweet potatoes
1/2  yellow onion
Olive oil
1 small jalapeno
1 teaspoon minced garlic
Juice of 1 lime
15 oz. black beans
1 diced red pepper
1 diced yellow pepper
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Peel and chop onions and sweet potatoes on separate baking sheets. Drizzle each of them with olive oil and toss to coat. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake sweet potatoes and onions, tossing occasionally. Bake sweet potatoes for about 40 minutes. After the onions have cooked for about 10 minutes, chop the red and yellow peppers and add them to the onions. Stir them all together and cook for another 10 minutes. Remove from oven. Heat the black beans on medium heat and rinse well once they are warm.

Put jalapeno in a food processor with the garlic, lime juice, a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of salt and pepper to taste. Pulse together until the ingredients form  a liquid and is blended well.

Mix the black beans, sweet potatoes, and onion/pepper mixture together in a large bowl. Add jalapeno/lime mixture and cilantro and mix well. Be careful as to not break the tender sweet potatoes.

_______________________________________________________________

Find me on Facebook!

