Tags

, , ,

My favorite thing about Fall is fixing heartier meals and snacks. Don’t get me wrong. I love fresh summer produce and not having to cook or bake to get a yummy, light meal. But the food connoisseur in me really loves the hearty meals and spice that come with Fall and Winter. Granted, it does mean I need to work out more, but it’s worth it for something delicious afterwards!

So today I knew I wanted to make a banana bread. And I knew I wanted to use the leftover granola I had. So I knew I had to get in a workout before cooking it to make myself feel better. So I really don’t feel bad for eating a small really large slice.

Of course, not many of you will have the granola lying around. If you don’t (although, I don’t know why you wouldn’t, because it’s delicious) you can always just add some oats, raisins, dates, and additional cinnamon to get the flavor of it.

Or, I have a better idea. Today you could make the granola and tomorrow or the next day you could make the Brown Butter Banana Granola Bread! Yes. I like that idea.

Brown Butter Banana Granola Bread
8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup granola
2 eggs
6 overripe bananas
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brown the butter (learn to brown butter here). Spray a mini loaf pan (can also be made into one large loaf, just cook it about 15 minutes longer) with cooking spray. Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, ginger, and cinnamon. With a stand mixer, mix together the eggs, banana, heavy cream, browned butter, and vanilla. Slowly add the flour mixture and blend well. Fold in the granola with a spatula and pour batter into mini baking pans. Bake for about 45 minutes.

 

