Tags

, , , ,

Aside from cupcakes (and pie, and cake, and sweet breads, and cookies…) one of my favorite things to make is spaghetti sauce. I love that I can always open the pantry or the fridge and find something to throw into a sauce. I was particularly happy with this sauce so I wrote it down as I went.

I know, I know. I used to be so bad about writing recipes down. Leap of Taste is helping me get better at that! Which is good, because not long ago I would make a delicious one-of-a-kind recipe and would never in a million years remember how I made it.

This spaghetti sauce is semi-homemade, though. Which is good. Because spaghetti is for those nights we don’t have time to cook or don’t feel like cooking, right? In our house it is. So, there is jarred sauce in here.

Hearty Vegetable Spaghetti Sauce
1 small red onion, chopped
Splash of olive oil
1 red pepper, chopped
1 orange pepper, chopped
3 carrots, chopped
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon fresh chopped basil
1 jar roasted red pepper and garlic spaghetti sauce
1 pound ground turkey (or beef)

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan. Add chopped onions and let them simmer until they begin to soften and you can see through them. Add chopped carrots and chopped peppers and let all veggies simmer for about 5 minutes. Add ground turkey, cayenne pepper, garlic, and chopped basil. Mix well and cover, letting simmer for about 10-15 minutes on medium heat. Once the flavors have melded together and simmered, and the ground turkey is cooked completely, add the jar of tomato sauce, mixing well. Season as necessary (I added a touch more cayenne pepper). 

