Tags

, , ,

So, I think it’s pretty evident already that I am obsessed with pumpkin the minute September begins. You know what else I am obsessed with? Gingerbread. So, I have been craving some form of gingerbread for about 2 weeks now. I finally broke down and made some Gingerbread Granola Bars today to satisfy my craving. It hit the spot for sure.

They are a tiny bit dry but I’m not sure what they are missing. I am also thinking if I had used pastry flour instead of regular flour, they may not have turned out dry. Or if I left out the flaxseed. Or used milk instead of cream. So, feel free to experiment with this recipe. Don’t get me wrong, though. They are still really delicious.

And it didn’t stop me from having 2. Or 3.

Gingerbread Granola Bars
2 cups rolled oats
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1/8 cup  hazelnuts
2 tablespoons chopped dates
Pinch of sea salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup molasses
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven the 350 degrees. Combine the oats, flaxseed wheat germ, and flour together. Add in the cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, sea salt, baking soda, hazelnuts, and dates. Mix until evenly combined. Begin adding honey, molasses, vanilla extract, brown sugar, and heavy cream and mix. At this point you will want to get your hands in there and start combining it with your hands until you are able to form it into a large mound. Spread on a baking sheet (it does not need to fill the whole sheet) and press down so it’s not too thick. Bake for 15-17 minutes.


 

