Tags

, ,

Remember how I told you here how I’m obsessed with gingerbread? And here how I am obsessed with pumpkin, and basically you will be getting a lot of gingerbread and pumpkin recipes this Fall?

Well, I tried to think of something different to make for you today. I really did. But I couldn’t get the thought of gingerbread muffins out of my head. And then I was thinking they would be really good mixed with raisins. Remember the little raisin eyes on gingerbread men? Yeah. That’s what I couldn’t get out of my head. And then I wanted to eat it.

So I made them. And now I can’t get enough. I am a gingerbread addict.

Whole Wheat Gingerbread Muffins
Makes 12 muffins

1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
4 teaspoons ground ginger
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 eggs
3/4 cup milk
3 1/2 tablespoons molasses
1/4 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a muffin pan with paper liners and spray with non-stick cooking spray. In a small bowl, sift together the two flours, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, and salt. Add brown sugar and combine. In a larger bowl beat the eggs until they begin to get fluffy. Add milk and molasses. Slowly begin adding the dry flour mixture to the liquid mixture and mix until just combined. Fold in raisins. Fill liners 3/4 full and bake for 18-20 minutes. 

I think they are pretty darn yummy all by themselves, but you could also add a glaze on top if you prefer that kind of thing. Maybe a lemon glaze? Or a cream cheese glaze? Unfortunately, they didn’t last long enough for me to try that.

