Tags

, , ,

Are you the cheesecake person who likes toppings on your cheesecake or a flavored cheesecake with no toppings? I really had to think hard about that before I made this cheesecake so I would know how I wanted to make it. I prefer toppings only if they are chocolate. If they are fruity…I’d rather have the cheesecake be flavored.

What’s your preference? I hope you like flavored cheesecake. Because this is yummy. You won’t be able to resist it. Even if you are a cheesecake topping lover.

It looks messy, but that’s what makes it good, right? Yeah. I’ll just tell myself that. It’s better than telling myself I cut pie like a 4 year old.

Blackberry Cheesecake

For the Crust:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup softened butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine all crust ingredients in a bowl and mix until it becomes moist and crumbly. Coat a springform pan with spray oil. Pour crust into pan and press down. Bake for 15 minutes, then remove and set aside.

For the Filling:
24 oz. cream cheese (3- 8 oz. packages)
1 1/2 cups sugar, plus another 1/8 cup
4 eggs
1/4 cup reduced fat sour cream
1 1/2 cups blackberries2 tablespoons water

Lower oven temperature to 350 degrees. Combine the blackberries, 1/8 cup of sugar, and water in a saucepan and cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes, until blackberries begin to juice. Remove blackberry mixture from heat and drain with a mesh drainer into a cup to get all the juice out. Discard leftover blackberries.

In a large mixing bowl, combine cream cheese and sugar. Blend well. Once blended, begin adding eggs one at a time, blending well between each addition. Add the sour cream and blackberry juice and combine. Pour over top of the pie crust and bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes. Turn off oven and open oven door, and let cheesecake sit in oven for another 15 minutes.

Refrigerate for 8 hours.

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman.

Now there’s no hiding the fact that I cut pie like a 4 year old. But I’ll share that little tidbit with you, if you don’t tell. But look at that pretty lilac color! Tastes good AND a pretty color? Doesn’t get much better.

