Tags

, , ,

Today I had some mascarpone screaming my name from the refrigerator. I tried to get it out of my head and just keep going on about my day, but it wouldn’t stop. I considered making a pasta sauce with it, but it wasn’t yet dinner time and it needed to get used right at that very minute. Needed to.

Enter the Apple, Pear, and Mascarpone burritos. Somewhat akin to these Apple Enchiladas, but better. Yep. Remember how I said I wanted to change some things in that recipe? Well, not this one. I loved this one. And funny thing, I just reread that post and at the end I said I wanted to use pears next time. I completely forgot I said that. Good to know I’m on the same page as myself!

Apple, Pear, and Mascarpone Burritos
Makes 3 burritos

3 whole wheat tortillas
2 apples, cut into chunks
1 pear, cut into chunks
1/2 cup mascarpone
2 teaspoons + 1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon honey

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put the chopped apples and pear in a saucepan with 1 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar. Simmer on medium heat until fruit becomes tender and a sauce begins to form.

While fruit is simmering, in a small bowl mix mascarpone, remaining cinnamon, and honey. Mix well. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place tortillas on it. Spread mascarpone mixture onto tortillas. Fill the inside of tortillas with fruit mixture, roll up with the fold on the bottom, and drizzle some of the sauce left over from the fruit mixture onto the top. Bake just for a few minutes, to get tortillas warm. I left mine in for about 7 minutes. If there is any fruit mixture left over, sprinkle on the top.

