Tags

, ,

Let me tell you a little something about me. I am obsessed with yellow squash. Literally, obsessed. So, you can imagine my heartbreak when yellow squash goes out of season.

Let me tell you something else about me. I have never cooked any other type of squash. Until last night. I have to admit I’ve always been scared of the large butternut squashes I’ve passed in the grocery store. I never even though twice about buying one and trying it. They just aren’t the cute little petite squashes I love so much.

I was feeling adventurous during my last grocery outing, so butternut squash it was. It sat in the refrigerator staring at me for a few days. I had no idea what to do with it and was beginning to regret my adventurous decision.

Until last night when I had a brilliant idea.

Well…either brilliant or a disaster.

Luckily, I was having a good day and it turned out to be brilliant.

Butternut Squash and Pear Medley
Makes about 4 servings

1 butternut squash
3 pears
1 tablespoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon ginger
1 tablespoon olive oil
Pinch of salt
Pinch of pepper 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Peel the butternut squash and cut into small cubes. Cut the pears into small cubes (you can leave the peels on the pears). Pour all squash and pears in a baking dish and drizzle with olive oil. Next, add the cinnamon, brown sugar, ginger, salt, and pepper, and stir well to combine. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, stirring every 5-10 minutes. Squash should be tender when it is done, so adjust baking time accordingly.

