Tags

, , ,

I first felt the crispness of Fall just a few days ago when I let our 3 puppies out first thing in the morning and it was pretty chilly. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve been whipping up pumpkin and Fall recipes for over a month now. But this week is when I felt like it was “okay” to start making Fall treats.

I’ve been trying to get in the habit of snacking between meals so I don’t stuff my face come dinner time. Which is why I bring to you this delightful pumpkin treat in the form of a bar today. It’s like autumn in a cute, edible square!

Chewy Pumpkin Pie Granola Squares
Makes 12 squares

1.5 cups rolled oats
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup honey
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
4 tablespoons melted butter
1/2 cup chopped pecans 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine oats, flour, flaxseed, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Add pumpkin puree, butter, honey, and vanilla extract. Once combined, fold in the chopped pecans. Press dough into a 9×13 baking dish and bake for 25 minutes. Let cool before cutting.

